A Few Facts About Lemon Laws In NJ
Although designed to protect consumers when they purchase cars, lemon laws have clearly-defined guidelines. What may seem a lemon in your eyes may not qualify under the law. Moreover, state requirements, such as the Lemon Law in NJ, often have more limitations than federal law.
Summary of Lemon Law
New Jersey offers many of the same protections for car buyers as other states. New car dealers must cover any cars they sell for 24,000 miles or two years, whichever occurs first. Your used vehicle must have 100,000 miles or less on the odometer, and you must have purchased it for more than $3,000. These qualifications entitle you to a warranty of certain defective parts and repair of any covered malfunctions within a specified time frame. The length of your warranty depends on the mileage of your purchased automobile
Length of Warranty Under Used Car Lemon Laws
Your warranty for a used car is at least 30 days unless you waive your entitlement in writing. Cars with less than 24,000 miles have a 90-day guarantee, those less than 60,000 miles a 60-day warranty, and the last category 30 days for under 100,000 miles. You can only waive your rights for a warranty if the car you buy has less than 60,000 miles on it. Of course, the amount you drive also affects your warranty. For example, a 90-day warranty would correspond to 3,000 miles. If you happen to reach the designated mileage under your period of coverage, the warranty will run out before your three months are up
Lemon Laws Limit Coverage
Not unique among states, New Jersey lemon laws limit cars that can qualify as lemons. First, you must purchase your car from a dealer. New Jersey does not recognize sales between private individuals under its lemon laws. New Jersey also excludes leases, motorcycles, RVs, commercial vehicles, automobiles over seven years old, and modified or abused cars. Federal regulations may cover gaps in state coverage. One example is federal lemon laws apply to cars from private sellers. In all cases, you must prove that you made every attempt to repair the car and file a certified letter with the car’s manufacturer
You Have a Lemon?
If you need a professional to evaluate your car and file a lawsuit under the Lemon Law in NJ, on your behalf, call us at 1-866-388-8290 or visit us Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center. We provide affordable and effective legal counsel if you suffer a loss from defective cars or trucks and other consumer products.